Optimism, reality and winter

September was damaging, February was devastating but there was always optimism. We could make this better.  I never thought about it before February, after February you realised how drab your city had become the positive to come out of this earthquake is that we could bring so much life and energy back to the city.

We can make this city the best in the world, change things that didn’t quite work and make it better. There will be arguments and not all people will agree, there will be losers, but we can make this great.

I still believe this  but since that 6.3 the Monday before last reality has been hitting home a little bit more. In September, it was expect a year or so of quakes, but they will diminish slowly over time. February, pretty much reset that “year” clock and now another one in June, it resets that clock again. Another large quake and the “year” resets.

It WILL eventually get better, there’s proof of that everywhere, but how long will it be before you stop your conversation as a 4 rumbles through.

Up to now I have thought everything can be rebuilt… but watching the video of Whitewash heads (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cixx_Td4YtM) I realised 2 things.

1. This is a 1 in 10 000 year event, it has change the structure of the land

2. Some things can never go back to normal, never will I ever run over that track how I used to. and it will take years before a new track will be built. and this isn’t the only one on the hills that I may never use again

Winter makes it worse as well, in September we were coming out of the cold and a summer to look forward to, February it was warm, June its just miserable. People are tired and end the end of their teather. I get sick of Cambell and Sainsbury interviewing the poor people who are at the end of there teather, so of course they are going to be angry. I suppose it makes great TV, but surely they need to take a perspective on the matter.

And for those people who comment “move chch to timaru” or some such. Get a grip on reality, you are not helping!

Next weekend, I escape the rumbling to cycle around the centre of the SI in the dead of winter. Who wouldn’t do such a thing. I fully expect to be left on my own. There are some people I don’t know but of the ones I do, they are sub 10hr Ironman guys, or Kylie (who’s just too enthusiastic ).  But I think it will be great, plus holiday, if only a few days, will be good.

Oh and my nutrition plan from last blog fell on tough times after the 6.3 the other Monday. Well I am just going on the premise that the extra fat will keep me warm at the training camp 🙂

And one other bright point for my day, my drive into work in the centre of the city at peak hour takes about 10min. Pre Feb, I would have been stuck in traffic on the same route, these days I drive down roads designed to take heavy traffic, whereas there is only a few. I pity those poor souls having to drive Riccarton, Sockburn, Hornby way.

 

3 responses to “Optimism, reality and winter

  1. You hit the nail on the head several times over for me. Especially regarding the tracks – it struck me this week that there’s not a lot left of what I once loved about our backyard. I also feel really bad saying this, but it’s not the quakes that will drive me out of town, but the continuing negativity and obsession with all that is earthquake activity. We came out of February pretty positively under the circumstances, now I just want to block it out. I’m looking forward to the announcements tomorrow so people can move on, although I’m sure there’ll be continued bickering about inequity, the pace the announcement was made or whatever. Everyone is an earthquake or EQC expert at the moment and quite frankly I’m sick of it! I certainly don’t watch Close Up or Campbell Live anymore.

    I heard of someone having a laugh after last night’s aftershocks. Hallelujah. Those of us who can, need to put on a brave front, rationalise the fears and danger, and learn to have fun again, for the sake of our city!!

  2. I’m heading ‘home’ for 4 days and really can’t wait 🙂 I’m over all of it really.
    In regards to training, I’m just starting to build up km’s and running out of places to run 😦
    If you ever want someone to run with Nadia, give me a yell, I’m running mostly on my own and it would be really appreciated to have someone else to puff and pant with 🙂

  3. And it is you young ones that are going to rebuild ChCh. Youth leaders need to be heard – back them. We baby boomers have got to listen to you. You have time on your side and have the knowledge, guts and determination. Keep it up.
    And yea that cliff walk has gone. I used to do it every day…. I can’t dwell on that too much!
    You can all come down here and do a weekend’s training in the Mackenzie Country!

Leave a comment